Earlier your eligibility to Canadian immigration programs was determined by the NOC code of your job, grouped according to the type of work that you do and your responsibilities. This was however changed back in November 2023. This blog will be your guide towards understanding the TEER categories that replaced NOC codes. 

What is the TEER Category? 

TEER stands for Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities consists of 6 categories (0,1,2,3, 4 and 5). Let’s dive deeper into understanding the TEER categories.

TEER  Occupation 
TEER 0 Management occupations. For example: Public Relations, marketing or advertising managers 
TEER 1 Occupations that require a university degree. For example: Software engineers or financial advisors 
TEER 2  Occupations that require a college diploma, 2 years or more of apprenticeship training, and supervisor jobs. For Example: Web Technicians, computer network 
TEER 3 Occupations that require a college diploma, 2 years or less of apprenticeship training, hands-on-the-job training for more than 6 months. For Example: Dental Assistants, bakers 
TEER 4 High school diploma or several hands-on-the- job training. For Example: Home Child Care Providers, Retail Supervisors   
TEER 5 Short-term jobs that require no prior education. For Example: Landscaping and grounds maintenance 

Role of TEER Category in Canadian Immigration 

TEER categories are important because: 

Want to learn more about TEER?  

If you want to learn more about the TEER categories and which category your job falls under, Brace Law can provide you with expert guidance and assistance. Our team of experienced professionals can help you navigate through the process.   

To get started, contact Brace Law at 905-815-6555 or email staff@bracelaw.ca. We offer consultations and services in multiple languages, including English, Italian, Albanian, Arabic, Russian, Punjabi, Farsi, Hindi, Malayalam and Urdu. Trust Brace Law for reliable legal support!